The ACT Audit Office was established under the Audit Act 1989, following the introduction of self government for the ACT in 1989.

The Audit Act was repealed in 1996 and replaced with the Financial Management Act 1996 and the Auditor-General Act 1996, which is the principal legislation that prescribes the operations of the Office today.

ACT Auditors-General to date

Mr James O'Neill AO1990 - 1992
Mr John Parkinson1992 - 2003
Ms Tu Pham PSM 2004 - 2011
Dr Maxine Cooper